Institute for Integrative Nutrition | My Experience

Mission: Our mission is to play a crucial role in improving health and happiness, and through that process, create a ripple effect that transforms the world.

Institute for Integrative Nutrition is the worlds largest nutrition school. It is based out of New York City and is an online curriculum for Holistic Nutrition.
IIN is on the forefront of the wellness movement. Yet, in my experience, I have found, it is
much more than that.

IIN offers the opportunity to become a certified holistic health counselor, however I enrolled in the program for my own personal health. Working with one of their health counselors opened my eyes to the world of holistic nutrition. When she moved, I decided I wanted to take it one step further & enrolled in the program.

At the time I was vegan, and I wasn’t feeling very healthy. I had gained weight and just didn’t run with the same energy I used to. I must be doing something wrong, I thought, so I went out on a mission to learn. I wanted to be the best vegan possible.

Over the course of the year however, things didn’t turn out the way I expected. I learned about Macrobiotics, Raw Diets, Ayruveda, Veganism, primal diet, the zone, SAD diet, blood-types, Low-fat etc. I learned about omnivores, herbivores, localvores etc.

The crazy part, for me, was listening to all of these different lectures. So many opposing theories. Now, these are all scientifically proven ways of eating. One person’s medicine is anothers poison they say. Well, it makes sense doesn’t it? We live in different environments, have cultural differences are genetically different… would I ever figure this out? I was turning into a mad women trying to find “the perfect way to eat.”

Enter bio-individuality.™  So very simplistic, really. Every single one of us is different and therefore must take the time to realize what is it that nourishes us. What is it that makes you energized & ready to take on the world. What is it that leaves you energy depleted, achy or burdened with inflammation. There are many sensitivities and allergies out there that many people don’t even realize they have. So, where does that leave us?

Intuition. we all have this… and we must listen. An internal brilliance. Quiet our minds and connect once more with our body. Honor our soul. nourish. We were all born with a knowing. Listen to it.

You are welcome to sign up for monthly updates >> HERE

Also, if you would like an email when I publish
Slow down. Love Up. My Journey Through Adrenal Fatigue
you can sign up for that >> HERE

Anyways, the moral of the story. IIN is a treasure that came into my life at the exact moment I needed it. Did I end up becoming the best vegan out there? Nope, in fact I am no longer vegan. (However, I think I eat more veggies now than I ever have, YEA squash!) I have made so many like minded friends (boo-ya California roadtrips!), and finally discovered what has been throwing me off balance (stage three adrenal fatigue)… and most importantly, I discovered how to nourish ME.

So upon my graduation, I promise myself this: I will learn as much as I can throughout my life. I will relax, take breaks and care for me always. I will honor my body & spirituality through activities I enjoy. I will express my creativity and shine shine shine.

Now really, how fun would this story be if it ended there? This story can not end with me. There are too many people out there who feel uninspired, unhealthy or down right unhappy.

I studied alongside thee most amazing individuals. These people are out there in the wellness movement making some big changes. They are sharing their passion for enriching lives with their friends, family and community. Keeping this to myself is not an option… this girl in now on a mission. An important mission to change. the. world.

I send every ounce of wild gratitude that I can conjure up to all those I have met on this journey & to everyone I will meet.

Namaste’

Elyse’ Renae Briski
Certified Holistic Health Counselor

Interested in becoming a Health Coach? Feel free to contact me with any questions about IIN. I am very happy to share about my experience. :D

6 thoughts on “Institute for Integrative Nutrition | My Experience

  1. So great to hear that you found something that worked and wanted to immerse yourself with it. I see it all the time with my clients that they think their every diet is “cookie cutter” and if it worked for my friend than it should work for me. People don’t want to hear that everyone is different and like you said, what may work for some may not work for you. Great blog! I have a masters in exercise and sport science with a concentration in sport psychology and blog about exercise advice and motivational tips if you are interested in following. I am more than happy to help any way possible.

  2. Pingback: Tsunami Of Sugar « Mindful Lifestyle – Devoted to Healing & Being

  3. I’m at the beginning of my journey at IIN. This post got me excited on all that there is to come with the program. I’m enjoying every minute thus far, especially my self discovery.

Leave a Reply

