Best Life — Twenty Ways to Relax

“Elyse’, you need to relax. Sleep, rest and relax.”

Errrrrrrr. Wait, what?
Here I am, sitting with my holistic doctor.
He is telling me I need to rest.
As crazy as it sounds now, in that moment, I was terrified.

I have been working with a “do not waste time” mentality for far too long. I was racking my brain trying to figure out the last time I let myself truly unwind.
I was having trouble remembering.
I don’t think the word “bored” has passed through my mind in at least 10 years. I can always find something to do…. always.

Welp, here I am. My ‘never rest’ attitude has left me with two little adrenals, burnt to a crisp. Yep, thats right. It was time to stare my stage three adrenal imbalance in the eye.

It was time to relax. Docs orders.

About now you probably think I am crazy. Well, yes, but there were many things I did that I enjoyed. However, I was always doing something with purpose.
I never just did something for the pure joy of doing it. If I was going to spend the time it better be worth it.

I actually feel sad as I type this. How unbelievably disconnected & rude I was to myself. However, the nutty anal fog has lifted. The way my health was affected by my actions is crystal clear.
I realize now, how crucial  it is to connect with myself & honor what makes me feel simply divine… for no good reason at all.

Wellness is a lifestyle. Self care has happily moved to the top of my list!
It is necessary, without doubt, to dedicate at least 20 minutes a day to YOU. Do what you love.

supporting others without nurturing ourselves depletes energy necessary for developing creativity. – c. diane ealy  {hip tranquil chick} 

I share with you a treasure-
20 ways to get your pamper on.

  1. YOGA breathe. connect. be.
  2. Write | Journal | Blog
  3. Bubble Bath with big lavender bath bombs compliments of LUSH!
  4. Read just because.
  5. Nap I freakin love naps & I know you do too.
  6. Bike Ride complete with a bell, the sound of birds & sunshine.
  7. Create a Collage nothing sparks my artistic groove like magazine clippings everywhere.
  8. Visit Favorite Cafe’ with no intention. people watch. sip tea.
  9. Create Inspiring Playlist music heals. <3
  10. Walk everyday, even if for 10 minutes.
  11. Organize | De-Clutter I promise this calms me. :)
  12. Massage nuff said here.
  13. Cook | Food Prep healthy, fresh & organic food makes me so happy.
  14. Meditate ommmmm
  15. Pamper: Nails | Brows | Hair Treatment probably my favorite. yup.
  16. Listen to Podcast throw your legs up the wall & get inspired!
  17. Garden | Park hit the grass. (by that I mean lay in the park)
  18. Tea Time indian spice please!
  19. Watch an Inspiring Film my favorites are legally blonde, eat pray love, how to lose a guy in 10 days or any cool documentary on netflix
  20. Do Absolutely Nothing and I mean nothing.

What is your go to when it comes to relaxing? Please share in the comments below.

Life is short and meant to be enjoyed. If you want to live your BEST LIFE,
be sure to include time for yourself.

Be well, XO

 

You are welcome to sign up for monthly updates >> HERE

Also, if you would like an email when I publish
Slow down. Love Up. My Journey Through Adrenal Fatigue
you can sign up for that >> HERE

20 thoughts on “Best Life — Twenty Ways to Relax

  1. My mom and I were just talking about this today! We all say we are “too busy” to relax. ..but it just needs to happen. Thanks for the reminder!

    • Hi Lala! Thank you so much for checking out my blog — it is true. As we decide what needs to stay on the schedule and go, we typically put our own well being to the wayside. Like you said thought, it just needs to happen! :) Wishing you moments of tranquility!

  2. Wow. It’s like you read my diary! I love every single one of these suggestions. And oddly enough, I almost watched Legally Blonde today. Are you comfortable using legal jargon in every day life?! LOLOLOL :P Good post!

    • “You were first runner up in the Miss Hawaiians Tropics contest….Why would you want to throw that all away??” LOL — Sunshine. I would have known you loved Legally Blonde as well. She is pretty sunny if you ask me! :) Nothing like the guilt free pamper! I love it!! Thanks for stopping by!

    • They can test your adrenal function through a urine test. Pretty interesting to say the least! If you want any more info shoot me and email or message me on FB. I am happy to help in any way I can! :)

  3. Great tips! I personally like to walk, spend time with one or both of my cats, listen to music, or watch a cheesy chick flick. Nice to unwind once in awhile.

  4. I’m in agreement with so many ideas on your list. Just yesterday, I organized my kitchen and assessed what I had on hand. I came up with meal ideas and went to the grocery store. I feel so much better now, even after two home-cooked meals. It really makes a difference.

    • couldn’t agree more! having things organized does make being in the kitchen so much easier.. & really, there is nothing like a home cooked meal! :) thanks for stopping by! :D

  5. Pingback: 5 steps in healing adrenal fatigue | what i’ve learned in 25 weeks | elyse renae

  6. Oh my goodness…I’m so pumped I found your blog. Sounds like we are the same person–health nut go go go forever and always! Just diagnosed at age 25 with severe adrenal fatigue and have been searching for good resources. Working with a great naturopath her in Portland, OR and using great supplements. Learning to rest..difficult when you run a company on top of a full time job and being a newlywed :) excited to learn more from your journey! Thanks for posting!

    • Hey Dani,

      I am so happy that you found my blog, too and that you can find value in the content! Thank you for the kind words and for leaving a comment! :D Its funny that you say that, most of the emails I receive start the same way.. “sounds like we are the same person!” — Rockstars! However, rockstars need a break too. :D

      I am so sorry that you are experiencing AF and I am glad I can be a resource–I have been there! Let me know if there is anything I can do. So happy you found a good Dr. & supplements. It is so important. Wishing you WELL on your journey. Sending healthy vibes to OR!

  7. Pingback: WOMANCODE- – A Brilliant Vision for Womens Health | Elyse' Renae

  8. Pingback: Let go. Love up. Healing Adrenal Fatigue. | Elyse' Renae

Leave a Reply

