Let go. Love up. Healing Adrenal Fatigue.

It’s been a while since I have published a post on Adrenal Fatigue. I’ve been reading more about it lately and feel like it is important to share a couple hindsight realizations.

If you are new to my site, check out my very first post on Adrenal Fatigue, here.

I also published this post, 6 months later, smack dab in the middle of the road to recovery.

Lastly, check out this post on eating clean. Game changing.

Today I want to go into a topic that I feel didn’t get enough credit the first time around. As people reach out to me through email, these feelings and questions seem to be a major commonality. I 100% believe these feelings must be released in order to feel your best and I want to help you do that. Ready? Here we go.

 Guilt. Shame. Unreasonable Expectation. Disconnection.

My AFers our there, sound familiar? I know when I was in the midst of AF I carried so much guilt… it was all consuming and always on my mind. As icky as it feels to type now, I was mean. I’m talking really mean. I was harsh and I was rude. Oy.

Who was I mean to? Who did I treat this way?
It wasn’t my family and it definitely wasn’t my friends or co-workers.

It was me.

I felt so much shame for gaining weight and not being able to lose it. I felt guilty about being so fuggin’ exhausted. There was negative self talk about not being able to nor wanting to do anything I used to. I super beat myself up for the crazy and I mean CRAZY cravings my body had. I felt so much guilt and shame about “not being able to figure it out” or not doing enough to fix myself.

Annnnnnnd, if that wasn’t enough I expected so much in a not so good way. I was never doing enough, reading enough or trying hard enough. This wasn’t healing fast enough, can I go back to the gym now?

I was so disconnected from my body and what it wanted. I never rested because if I rested then I wasn’t trying.

Man, just writing this I want to go back and give myself a big hug. When I get emails from others who are struggling I want to reach through the computer and give them a big hug.

Its OK.
Breathe.

Let’s talk the bright side. There is always a bright side.

This is where we begin to turn it around and I’ll let you know what worked for me to do just that.

“Tension is who you think you should be, relaxation is who you are.”
– Chinese Proverb

Just bringing these tendencies/thoughts into your awareness is a start.

Let me ask you a couple questions.
(Grab a journal so you can capture and work through your thoughts. Let it out and let it flow.)

As you work through this, please don’t judge. Allow, feel, release and move on.

Become aware of your inner dialogue. What is it saying?

Of those thoughts, what can you keep and maybe amp up?
Of those thoughts, what might be beneficial revisit and possibly let go?

What are some signs/signals you are getting from your body?
(Cravings, pains, feelings etc. mean something. Its your body talking to you! Write it out!)
What do you think it is saying? Do you need rest? Nourishment? Self care?

Gratitude/positivity has been a HUGE influence in living happy & healthy. I am so lucky to have positive people in my life to remind me to always look on the bright side. (Im talking to you, Tom!)

What can you appreciate about yourself? Fill a page of your awesome. Connect with it.
What is going great in your life right now? Write it out.
What can you be grateful for in your health?

Think about it. Journal it. Chat it out with a friend or sister.

I’d like to share a few things I like to do when I can.
If you have any other suggestions, I’d love to hear it! Please share in the comments below.

You are welcome to sign up for monthly updates >> HERE

Also, if you would like an email when I publish
Slow down. Love Up. My Journey Through Adrenal Fatigue
you can sign up for that >> HERE

1. GRATITUDE & Positivity. Daily. Whether it be pausing for a moment in the morning while I make breakfast, saying thank you sincerely to the cashier at the store, sharing the three best things of my day with Tom when he gets home or jotting down my blessings in my journal. I practice it. It gets easy to get sucked into a negative trap, very easy… but even when things feel like they suck, there is ALWAYS something to be grateful for. Gratitude and positivity go a long way in turning things around. Bring the good back into focus.

The mind is everything. What you think you become. — Buddha

2. LET GO & BREATHE. Beating yourself up with shoulds and coulds will get you nowhere. If you are doing what you can with what you have, let that be enough. It is OK to allow yourself a moment to breathe and enjoy. There is a fine line between wanting to push yourself to be your best and beating yourself up for things that just take time and patience. As long as your are doing what you can and listening to your body, respect yourself enough to let go of the negative talk. Onward and upward.

3. SELF-LOVE & SELF CARE. Give yourself permission to completely and totally love yourself UP. You freakin’ deserve it and I don’t think we do it enough. You’re busy, I know it… but even if you have to schedule time into your calendar, do it. Click HERE to check out my favorites. Make a list of things that make you feel happy and my goodness find a way.

Thank you sincerely for reading. Sending good vibes your way. Good vibes, calm courage and loads of loving! XO Feel free to contact me if you have personal comment or question.

 

IMG_0010_2

5 thoughts on “Let go. Love up. Healing Adrenal Fatigue.

  1. Thanks Elyse! What a great post :) I gave struggled with most of this (and am healing now – slowly). I love the proverbs. Xx Liz

    • Hey Elizabeth!
      No problem. Isn’t this *SO* important? So important. I am glad that you are on the track to healing and send you nothing but good vibes while you do so. Appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment. Big HUGS. :D

  2. Pingback: Healing Adrenal Fatigue | 5 Steps | Elyse' Renae

Leave a Reply

